Slacker in the making?


I’ll let you all decide for yourselves if I am, in fact, a slacker in the making. I’ve been lax about getting posts up, but I’m going to share all of my excuses for this with you so that you can make your own call about my level of slackness.

It was my intent to update daily with progress notes and photos of what I’d accomplished for the day. I have to say, I didn’t realize how easy a day turned into 19 hours straight of nothing but creating!  More than once, my housemate had to come distract me from my work to get me to eat or go to bed.  What can I say, when the creative juices are flowing I hate to abandon them for such mundane things as food and rest.  Honestly, the only reason I’m taking the time to write this post is because I’m waiting on adhesive to dry.

According to my housemate, I’ve been in “mad creative mode.”  I’ve wrapped packages for friends (a precise art in itself!) and dealt with the international paperwork to get them off, I’ve created a blank journal with a combination binding that I’m hoping another friend will get use out of, I finished up my book for the Sheffield show, and have nearly completed another book for the Minnesota Center for Book Arts  MCBA 2013 Prize.  I also spent more time than anyone would consider reasonable looking at paper.  My normal paper supplier re-aligned their business while I was in the UK and now they only do framing.  I restocked the studio and picked up things to try working in a new medium.

Thus far, I’ve been pleased with my success using the new paper in combination with the new paints.  I think I’m starting a love affair with rice paper and acrylic paints.  This is a leap from my preference of watercolours and Canson printing papers, but it’s a leap I think I’ve been ready to take for a while.  I also dabbled with painting on canvas, but I just don’t feel that technique like I do making books.

So here are some pictures of my slacker time projects, I look forward to hearing your thoughts and critiques on what you see!

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

This entry was published on April 7, 2013 at 3:28 PM. It’s filed under Incoherent Ramblings, Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

A Penny for your Thoughts...

