22 March 2013


Todays inspiration is an unlikely one, problems.  I was struggling to decide what the inspiration for today would be when it hit me.  I spent a fair few minutes laughing at myself because in the course of brainstorming for inspiration, I realized that many times a problem can inspire us to find new and excited avenues to explore.

My piece today is a parody on a flow chart.  Frequently, flow charts are used for “diagnostic problem solving” and I thought that poking fun at the idea that a TRUE problem could be solved via a flow chart would keep the idea of “problems” in perspective.

I used Sharpies, scissors, glue stick, and coloured copy paper to create today’s piece.  I’m sure that you’re all dying to know what’s written under the flaps on the pages so, here you go:

Step 1:  Get a problem if you don’t already have one.

Step 2:  Think about it.  Talk about it with friends.  Tweet about it and update your FaceBook.

Step 3:  GET REAL

I also composed a Haiku.  I’m NOT a poet, but it was fun and it got my creative juices flowing by limiting my syllables.  I had to think in order to write a poem that would meet both the structure criteria as well as the subject.

Do I consider today’s piece a mind-shattering work of art? No, I don’t. HOWEVER, every day and every inspiration won’t have the same outcome.  It’s important to keep in mind that sparking creativity is far more important than the outcome.  Today’s prompt had me laughing and scratching my head and it forced me to BE CREATIVE!  That’s the goal here, after all.

Make sure you share your inspiration, I look forward to seeing them!

This entry was published on March 22, 2013 at 4:00 PM. It’s filed under Daily Prompt, Inspiration and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

A Penny for your Thoughts...

